1. To search, chat and ask questions, please join us (it's free) or log in.

How is HSV-2 worse than HSV-1?

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by chocoholic91, Mar 16, 2011.

1. chocoholic91

chocoholic91 Newbie

I was diagnosed with HSV-1 on the genitals last month. I know you get that from oral sex and type 2 via intercourse. I've read that people wish they had HSV-1 rather than HSV-2. Why is that? Aren't they basically the same thing, except you get one from oral sex and one from intercourse? To me, herpes is herpes and both types are bad in my opinion. Sorry, I'm still new to this and still learning about herpes.
  2. regret

regret Well-Known Member

both are basically the same type 2 is the stronger of the two .
  3. afewquestions

afewquestions Newbie

She is right, type two is stronger and since it's on the undercarriage I'm sure you could imagine hurts a little more
  4. Kitty123

Kitty123 VIP Member

I have HSV2 and I've had it since July 2010. I'm on suppressives and it works very well.

HSV2 is only worse because it carries a heavier stigma than HSV1 (IMO!)

ALthough, I may be one of the lucky few that suffered a MILD outbreak in comparison to others. I didn't even have blisters.

I only get itching and pain in my legs - thats it.

It doesn't hurt 'more'. In fact, I'm quite shocked that *I* didn't get the initial OB that I see everyone else did.

HSV2 or HSV1 - it's still HSV. *AND* HSV1 genitally can also be a bugger and have recurrences. It just depends on someone's ability to suppress it via their immune system but clinically it sheds less often so it tends not to recur like HSV2 does.

Unfortunately there is NO textbook way of looking at Herpes. It's quite the chameleon of a virus.
  5. package deal

package deal VIP Member

the only good thing about herpies 2 is that you can people cant tell you have herpies by just looking at you
  6. ScaryJimmy

ScaryJimmy Active Member